Thread Rating:
  • 15 Vote(s) - 3.33 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Both Break Lights Not Working
#1
just looking for some info on this ,I have been doing a lot of research :eek:on this ,
my both brake lights are not working and i have change the bulbs but still not working , Im thinking that it might be brake switch can any1 advise me on how to check this( I know its somewhere near the brake pedal) or is it a fuse ,
Thank you in advance for help .

oh yes my van is up for psv on friday would like to get it passed so i dont fork out £18 for retest Confusedcratch:
Reply
#2
Should be a free retest, shop around, what are you paying at that garage?

Does the top brake light work? Most likely your brake light switch which is just above the pedal itself IIRC.
Want Help with the Forum? Read Help Documents Here
 [Image: mybbsig.php]

Reply
#3
The switch is on the pedal box.Disconnect the plug,join the two plug terminals with a handy bit of wire,turn ignition on,run round the back & check if stop lights are on.If they are,check the switch plunger is free.They can get dusty etc & stick.If it's sticky,squirt Wd40 on it while pushing it in & out(the plunger).Try before refitting.As a rough adjustment push the pedal 2-3mm before the plunger touches it.Good luck & welcome to the forum.
Strawberry flavoured windows  Dodgy
Reply
#4
(07-01-2012, 11:33 PM)ron Wrote:  The switch is on the pedal box.Disconnect the plug,join the two plug terminals with a handy bit of wire,turn ignition on,run round the back & check if stop lights are on.If they are,check the switch plunger is free.They can get dusty etc & stick.If it's sticky,squirt Wd40 on it while pushing it in & out(the plunger).Try before refitting.As a rough adjustment push the pedal 2-3mm before the plunger touches it.Good luck & welcome to the forum.

do you think that it is most likely it is brake switch ?
and do i need to unscrew the 2 screws from the fuse box to get at the switch ,

Reply
#5
I took off the brake switch to have a look it seems that the plunger (the bit inside the black thread) is flush at the end , I tried to free it abit with wd 40 but it doesnt seem to come out a bit further ! Does this mean i need to get new brake switch ?
I had looked at some of the pictures on ebay of brake switches and it looks like that the plunger seems to be further out more .
Thanks guys in advance
Reply
#6
(08-01-2012, 11:48 AM)Raymi5 Wrote:  ! Does this mean i need to get new brake switch ?

Yes. Switch must be replaced.
Reply
#7
Thank you very much you guys :thumbsup:
pk7478
ron
Andre
I will get one asap for psv on friday , I will let you know if brake lights working when I get the switch .
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:
  

Password:
  




[-]
Search
(Advanced Search)

[-]
Latest Threads
Is anyone buying a new car AFTER April 2017?
Last Post: doofer
Today 09:42 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 77
Tyre Change...old on front new on back
Last Post: Opensauce
Today 09:34 AM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 92
Insurance cost
Last Post: Opensauce
Today 09:33 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 46
Finally a B9 Haynes Manual
Last Post: Satellitemark
Today 09:17 AM
» Replies: 35
» Views: 2262
Newbie
Last Post: Jed Clampit
Today 12:23 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 59
Fuel rail pipe replacement
Last Post: Peter Palmer
Yesterday 08:19 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 55
REAR AXCEL
Last Post: Tomcat3
Yesterday 07:31 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 147
Berlingo B9 2008 Just Testing The Water
Last Post: nickyboy4
Yesterday 06:34 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 40
Starting issues
Last Post: technique1966
Yesterday 06:00 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 39
Are Mud Flaps the Answer ?
Last Post: Top drive
Yesterday 04:02 PM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 325

[-]
Recent Visitors
Locations of visitors to this page