Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 3.33 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Horn
#1
I've looked around the forum trying to find out where the horn is on a Mk3. I've got twin air horns I want to fit and need the wires off of the original horn. I've tried following the sound of it but just can't see it! I think it may be behind the fuse box on the N/S? Anybody know where it is? Is it simple enough to get to?
Reply
#2
I've been looking to replace mine too (the stock horn is a real joke) but alas it is well hidden. Behind the front bumper on the left side (viewed from inside). Can see it if you get it up on a lift and take off the cover plate underneath the car.
2010 Berlingo Multispace HDi 110 with FAP.  Persamos green.

[Image: ab197646.gif]
Reply
#3
Sweet thanks 3rensho!
Reply
#4
(10-05-2013, 05:12 PM)til5101 Wrote:  Sweet thanks 3rensho!

Let us know how you go on fitting those, hope there's enough space there, as I was thinking of doing the same thing.Smile
2011 (61) Multispace XTR 110 in Kyanos Blue
Reply
#5
Ive got the horns in, you can just get to the orginal from underneath. Ive appeared to have blown the fuse for the horn though :/ anybody know where the fuse is? I think its a 20amp?
Reply
#6
Its a 15A miniblade, in the engine compartment fusebox.
Position F2 just in front of the middle of the 3 multiplug connectors
Reply
#7
DO NOT try to run something like twin horns direct from
the standard wiring harness. Use the original wiring to the horn
to activate a relay, then take a new, separate supply (which is fused at around
25 amps) from the battery to the new horns via the relay.
If what I have said here goes over your head then find someone who is
competent with vehicle electrical systems.
The Older I get the Better I Was!  Cool
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Ol'Jeffers for this post:
  • addo
Reply
#8
It definitely needs a relay to run the horn compressor, don't just try a bigger fuse or you'll melt the wiring Big Grin
So where does this bit go then ?
Reply
#9
(13-05-2013, 05:35 PM)til5101 Wrote:  ......................... Ive appeared to have blown the fuse for the horn though ...........................

Whoooooooooooooooooosh!
Reply
#10
It's all good! It's all wired in with the relay properly. I've got a 30 amp fuse between the relay and the battery. I managed to squeeze the horns between the n/s headlight and the wing and then cable tied them. I'd recommend fitting air horns the raphosa, purely for the shits and giggles when someone is not expecting it!
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:
  

Password:
  




[-]
Search
(Advanced Search)

[-]
Latest Threads
Tyre Change...old on front new on back
Last Post: geoff
Today 10:41 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 53
Finally a B9 Haynes Manual
Last Post: Satellitemark
Today 08:26 PM
» Replies: 33
» Views: 2210
Fuel rail pipe replacement
Last Post: Peter Palmer
Today 08:19 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 42
REAR AXCEL
Last Post: Tomcat3
Today 07:31 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 130
Berlingo B9 2008 Just Testing The Water
Last Post: nickyboy4
Today 06:34 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 29
Starting issues
Last Post: technique1966
Today 06:00 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 27
Insurance cost
Last Post: jonny705
Today 05:33 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 33
Newbie
Last Post: j.ted
Today 04:40 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 43
Are Mud Flaps the Answer ?
Last Post: Top drive
Today 04:02 PM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 314
Is anyone buying a new car AFTER April 2017?
Last Post: Solent
Today 03:35 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 51

[-]
Recent Visitors
Locations of visitors to this page