Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to berlingos and diesle
Hello folks,
Im new to berlingos Ive just picked up a 600d 1.9d W reg...It needs new rear shoes and the starter motor looking at as its very lazy..2/3 turns before she fires up...the old girl is a little smokie on start up but once she has warmed up there is no smoke...Im pretty handy with the spanners but not clued up on deisle at all...Im going to have a read through the forum to see what I can find out ref the smoke issue...I dont think the van has had a good service for many years..so thats my starting point I think,
Just thought I would introduce myself and see what you guys thought about my actions,
Regards,
Steve.
Hello Steve and welcome !

The Forum is a nice place and most helpful so should sort you out and the 1.9D is a good engine, sturdy and reliable returning decent mileage, fuel and cheap running .... being handy with spanners makes it even cheaper !

Shoes will be straightforward ..... starter motor ? check all earths before spending and ensure a good battery too.

Smoke on start ? blue = oil white = diesel .... does it chug chug on first start ? if so check the valve clearances when doing the timing belt .... I'd suggest a FULL service ie oils and all belts plus water pump which will give you a solid start, don't forget fuel and air filter too.

All straightforward works and not expensive. Enjoy the ride ...........
2007 M59 1.6 HDi 

Serieal Berlingo owner  Heart Heart Heart
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to geoff for this post:
  • steve johnson
Hi & welcome.Give it a major service 1st,then you know it's been done.Include the trans oil as that is hardly ever changed.Check valves as they tighten up & it's a cam out job.If you don't know for certain how long the cambelt has been there,change it,tying it up with valve adj if needed.Good luck & ask here for any advice you need.
Strawberry flavoured windows  Dodgy
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to ron for this post: