Thread Rating:
  • 14 Vote(s) - 2.71 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
RD4 radio - hooking in an iPod
#1
Anybody got any ideas how to possibly hook an iPod into the stock RD4 MP3 radio fitted in the Mk3? I only have the standard MP3 single CD head fitted, so no multi-CD changer. There doesn't seem to be anything which resembles a standard jack type connector on the back of the radio either. Been using an FM transmitter for a while now but at motorway speeds and even with the volume right up at 30, sometimes it's impossible to hear the iPod.

If anyone has any ideas, I'd appreciate it.

Cheers
Reply
#2
An expensive solution(or maybe not so if you can get one secondhand) is the head unit from the enterprise van and the compartment below it.
The head has a switchable source input and the compartment has a 3.5mm stereo socket and a usb socket.
Works well with a cheap usb flash drive.
It will also stream from a compatible (thats not mine then) bluetooth phone .

You can get over a hundred mp3 tracks on a single CDRW though?
I used to just keep two or three in rotation.
Reply
#3
(16-04-2012, 02:34 PM)evdama Wrote:  An expensive solution(or maybe not so if you can get one secondhand) is the head unit from the enterprise van and the compartment below it.
The head has a switchable source input and the compartment has a 3.5mm stereo socket and a usb socket.
Works well with a cheap usb flash drive.
It will also stream from a compatible (thats not mine then) bluetooth phone .

You can get over a hundred mp3 tracks on a single CDRW though?
I used to just keep two or three in rotation.

Theres an auxiliary input in the passengers glove box
Reply
#4
[/quote]

Theres an auxiliary input in the passengers glove box
[/quote]

+1 on this. I have an 2010 XTR Multispace and use the Auxiliary input in the glove box to connect my iPhone. Works perfectly.:thumbsup:
Reply
#5

Theres an auxiliary input in the passengers glove box
[/quote]

+1 on this. I have an 2010 XTR Multispace and use the Auxiliary input in the glove box to connect my iPhone. Works perfectly.:thumbsup:
[/quote]

No such luck on the van Sad

Reply
#6
If on some models there is an auxiliary port (as there indeed is on mine), you may well find that there is a port on the rear of the head unit. It would seem unusual for them to leave out the functionality entirely. If I were contemplating this I'd certainly have a look.
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:
  

Password:
  




[-]
Search
(Advanced Search)

[-]
Latest Threads
Head Light Bulbs
Last Post: dargoion
Today 05:52 PM
» Replies: 33
» Views: 977
radio code
Last Post: Tomcat3
Today 02:32 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 80
Sop the seatbelt buckle sitting soo low?/aux ste...
Last Post: Trevor
Today 02:13 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 38
Removing the rear roof storage bin (mk3 modutop)
Last Post: iscom
Today 01:31 PM
» Replies: 15
» Views: 6739
display fading (MFD B, not bulb related)
Last Post: saskak
Today 01:02 PM
» Replies: 41
» Views: 6100
New Berlingo Auto Box - Anyone have one?
Last Post: doofer
Today 12:13 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 243
Help needed have immobiliser fault and fan probl...
Last Post: brajomobil
Today 12:07 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 60
Rear light bulb holders - keeps dropping bulb.
Last Post: Top drive
Today 12:01 PM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 296
What website to pass time over a winters evening...
Last Post: VanFanDan1984
Today 11:57 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 253
Good Evening to you all.
Last Post: VanFanDan1984
Today 11:57 AM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 233

[-]
Recent Visitors
Locations of visitors to this page