Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 2.4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Running a domestic chest freezer!
#1
Almost every time we make a trip to the UK we haul along our chest freezer (it's not that huge) and plug it into the mains in my mum's garage,then when we are ready to come home everything is frozen nicely and it usually stays that way until we get home to Belgium.
Mum lives 30 mins from the tunnel at Folkestone and then it's nearly 3hrs to home from Calais.

I say lives,she died suddenly last October from cancer,so we now have a bit further to go,to Felixstowe,where my brother lives.

So,I decided to look into running the freezer off an inverter.
The first thing to do was see what amp/wattage the freezer was,turns out to be 150w,so I purchased a 300w inverter to err on the side of caution.
Next was to run some heavy cable (I used motorcycle battery cable) from the battery,around the back of the bulkhead,underneath the car and into the boot.The cables are protected with convoluted conduit and ran seperately and secured along the brake pipes.
The side panel in the boot was removed and the inverter was connected.


Did it work? Yes it did,even the milk was almost frozen when we got home!
2010 XTR in black with bells and whistles

[Image: 5A50i.jpg]
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to XTR for this post:
  • whitebus
Reply
#2
Is it because you get better horse meat here than in Belgium ? Big Grin
So where does this bit go then ?
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to ffrenchie for this post:
  • whitebus
Reply
#3
(20-05-2013, 06:31 PM)ffrenchie Wrote:  Is it because you get better horse meat here than in Belgium ? Big Grin

Not quite,there are many things you can't get in Belgium.
Mind you,meat is something we usually buy from a local butcher in Whitstable,it's much cheaper and of a higher quality than we get here in Belgium.
And I don't eat horse meat,not knowingly anyway Rolleyes
2010 XTR in black with bells and whistles

[Image: 5A50i.jpg]
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to XTR for this post:
  • whitebus
Reply
#4
I'm surprised a 300w inverter would start a fridge compressor. Compressors can take up to 6 times their running current during the first second of starting. They have a seperate start winding that is brought in by a relay. Look up 'split-phase motor' on wiki

It will be having a hard life
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Fletch for this post:
  • whitebus
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:
  

Password:
  




[-]
Search
(Advanced Search)

[-]
Latest Threads
Is anyone buying a new car AFTER April 2017?
Last Post: Jed Clampit
Today 09:25 PM
» Replies: 10
» Views: 160
Another seat belt question
Last Post: berreke
Today 09:02 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 22
hi all
Last Post: Jed Clampit
Today 08:39 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 33
Tyre Change...old on front new on back
Last Post: RocketVANman
Today 08:26 PM
» Replies: 12
» Views: 189
New Berlingo Auto Box - Anyone have one?
Last Post: doofer
Today 08:10 PM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 326
Newbie
Last Post: j.ted
Today 08:03 PM
» Replies: 6
» Views: 98
600lx or 800lx
Last Post: terryd999
Today 05:16 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 21
Fuel rail pipe replacement
Last Post: Peter Palmer
Today 04:50 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 84
Slow starter (diesel)
Last Post: zedhead
Today 03:22 PM
» Replies: 13
» Views: 305
Are Mud Flaps the Answer ?
Last Post: berreke
Today 02:13 PM
» Replies: 13
» Views: 373

[-]
Recent Visitors
Locations of visitors to this page