Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 3 Average
[Warning Light] Anti Pollution warning light
Hi. I'm a new member and in need of help with identifying a problem my 2009 hdi 1.6 van.

Two months ago when I was in the red on my fuel gauge the anti pollution came on the display with the engine management light. I filled up soon after and the light and warning light went out. This has happened a number of times going into the red on the fuel gauge. So I figured there might be some dirty diesel in the tank.

Then a week ago when leaving work the van seemed to be missing any power when pulling out on to the main road. Then all of a sudden it pulled away like a bullet leaving a huge puff of black smoke.

Then this week after filling the van to the brim with fuel the anti pollution warning light came on yet again and stayed on until yesterday at half a tank. The van defiantly seems to be kicking out a lot of black smoke when pulling away at at a pace.

So being I have limited knowledge about these things could some one give me an idea what this could be.

Egr or bad fuel or a combo of both. Any help would be great before I take it to the garage and spend a small fortune. Many thanks
It can be an egr valve problem that causes anti pollution light to come on but easiest solution is to get fault codes read, I think Citroen garage might charge £40 for that. If egr valve is sticking open for a few secs it could well cause symtoms you describe because exhaust gas will be recycled back into engine & then close resulting in the black smoke. You can buy egr cleaner from Halfords that you spray into air intake, I think, so perhaps worth a try first.
Thanks.

I saw Halfords sold egr cleaner but it said for petrol engines, would that matter? Also im struggling to locate the egr itself. Is it easy to locate? thanks in advance.