Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Tyre Pressure Monitoring System.
#1
On my New 2014 XTR model i have TPMS fitted. ( To be delivered December )
Can a second / spare set of wheels with TPMS valves fitted be coded to the car so in effect have 8 wheels that could be interchangeable without any individual re programming or not ??? 
[Image: 24g96ie.jpg]
Reply
#2
I'd give the dealer a bell and ask. Probably the easiest answer.
Reply
#3
Yes it can be done, National Tyres or similar may be cheaper then the main dealer .

http://www.national.co.uk/tpms-sensor-va...ement.aspx
MkIII VTR 1.6hdi Modutop, Climate Pack, 16" Alloys
Reply
#4
Main Dealer price for TPMS sensors £86 each.
[Image: 24g96ie.jpg]
Reply
#5
Is there a way to tell whether TPMS is fitted?

...Or is it another feature I've just missed out on on my 2014 XTR (without DAB radio)...?
Reply
#6
I believe they're a requirement on all new vehicles now. So would assume you just haven't spotted it yet. ( But i could be wrong )

There's a little yellowish / orange light that comes on briefly in the right had instrument face ( the speedo ) that looks like a flat tyre with an exclamation mark, that's it. 
You can't just check by looking at the valve in the wheel as Citroen are using the 'Snap in rubber type valve' ( Obviously another cost saving exercise )
[Image: 24g96ie.jpg]
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Gollycrush for this post:
  • doofer
Reply
#7
Great - thanks for the info. Presumably this only checks for dangerously low pressure then? I think the dealer must have put about 30psi in when I collected it, as the tyre pump ran for ages to get them up to the required pressure when I inflated them for the first time.
Reply
#8
(16-01-2015, 05:32 PM)doofer Wrote:  Great - thanks for the info.  Presumably this only checks for dangerously low pressure then?  I think the dealer must have put about 30psi in when I collected it, as the tyre pump ran for ages to get them up to the required pressure when I inflated them for the first time.

On the contrary, you only need to have an imbalance of a couple of psi in a tyre to activate the dash light. ( some people find it annoying and have the system switched off !!!  but I'd rather know I've got a soft tyre )
[Image: 24g96ie.jpg]
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Gollycrush for this post:
  • doofer
Reply
#9
I can't deny its a good system for letting you know of a slow puncture, but they are powered by internal, non-replaceable batteries so when they fail be prepared for expensive sensor replacements.

They power up on rotation of the wheel, so are mileage as well as time life expired.

The spare wheel (in my case at least) doesn't have the sensor which means that when I had the spare installed the alarm and light would keep activating.
MkIII VTR 1.6hdi Modutop, Climate Pack, 16" Alloys
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:
  

Password:
  




[-]
Search
(Advanced Search)

[-]
Latest Threads
Slow starter (diesel)
Last Post: ricc
Today 11:53 AM
» Replies: 15
» Views: 336
Mesh Bulkhead
Last Post: Jelevents
Today 11:37 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 13
2005 Berlingo
Last Post: len glover
Today 10:10 AM
» Replies: 6
» Views: 94
Supermarket Diesel
Last Post: polar
Today 09:28 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 49
clunking noise
Last Post: ffrenchie
Today 09:26 AM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 85
BULBS!!
Last Post: Jed Clampit
Yesterday 11:05 PM
» Replies: 17
» Views: 602
Finally a B9 Haynes Manual
Last Post: Satellitemark
Yesterday 10:43 PM
» Replies: 39
» Views: 2497
TRAILER WANTED
Last Post: Silverberlingo
Yesterday 10:29 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 86
longitudinal roof rails
Last Post: Chrisville
Yesterday 10:27 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 30
Head Light Bulbs
Last Post: Hughzie
Yesterday 09:23 PM
» Replies: 36
» Views: 1143

[-]
Recent Visitors
Locations of visitors to this page