Berlingo Forum

Full Version: 1999 Berlingo VP 1.4 cranks but won't fire
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
hey everybody

noob here, thanks for taking the time to read

1999 Berlingo VP 1.4
VIN: VF7MCKFXF65364754
RPO: 8275
short van "800"
right hand drive
TUJ3P engine
5 speed manual

correctly removed battery to do some engine bay work (battery acid leak from previous bettery), charged, tested, refitted it & performed BSI reset (not even sure this model has one, nor does it appear to have immobilisation)

with ignition on, only battery, hand/park brake & oil lights illuminate - engine cranks but wont fire, there is no spark, i can hear the fuel pump running

disconnected the ECU & everything's the same - checked power to ECU pin 13 OK, so i know the ECU is getting power

it ran fine prior - suggestions anyone?

also, i have access to the service.citroen.com site, but for the life of me i cannot find an ignition circuit, nor can i find information telling me which relay is which (6 relays in the cabin, 3 in the engine bay fuse box) i found nice diagrams with numbers, but no references to the numbers to identify each relay

is the engine management relay the one mounted under the left guard? and i presume the fuel relay is the one mounted inside the engine bay in front of the fuse box

any assistance with any of the above would be very much appreciated

thanks in advance
Just a thought have you got the fuel cut off button near the battery that shuts down in the event of a crash. When you removed the battery did you knock it.
i can hear the fuel pump running & have checked there is fuel pressure at the injector rail, there is no spark,,,,,, could be the crank angle sensor, the ECU,, the BSI (if there is one) - i'll phone citroen tomorrow & find out if it has a BSI & immobiliser