Berlingo Forum

Full Version: Caravan Virgin
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Have just purchased a 2 berth Ace Airstream caravan. (763kg ex works)
Never owned or towed a caravan before.
Aware of the basic towing do's and dont's (I am an HGV driver), but do the experienced towing fraternity have any tips?
Also, are there any specific issues towing with a Berlingo?
Is it a good tow-car (van)?

All comments gratefully received.:thumbsup:
Hey up Martin, I've been a pikey-cum-diddicoy-cum-caravanner for probably the best part of twenty years, having progressed from tents and bog-snokelling.

Main issues are with getting the nose weight right on the caravan and positioning any luggage as close to the axle as poss.

You may find that a stabiliser would also be beneficial when towing but only a test drive will reveal that. Probably teaching granny to suck eggs here!!!

I am still awating our first trip to tow our van with the Berlingo and so far have only towed my small box trailer from home to the skip site and back so can't comment on the towing abilities.

The Berlingo did win towcar of the year award a few years back and messrs Clarkson, May and Hammond did a "spoof" on towing and caravanning. Don't know if you saw that one but it was hilarious. The heirachy at the Camping and Caravan Club and Caravan Club slated it but I thought it portrayed some of the fraternity in their own right.

There is a lot of snobbery within caravanning but I take no notice, keep my head down and enjoy.

Sod's law, we should have been away from today for a couple of weeks but the wife is not very well so we can't go..... makes a change as it is usually me who throws a wobbler at the last hurdle....
Towed my little freedom to scotland and back, using cruise control.Towed perfectly, achieved 40mpg at 60 most of way. No worries. Enjoy.