Berlingo Forum
lights on or off - Printable Version

+- Berlingo Forum (https://www.berlingoforum.com)
+-- Forum: Berlingo Chat (https://www.berlingoforum.com/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: General Chat (https://www.berlingoforum.com/forum-7.html)
+--- Thread: lights on or off (/thread-364.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

lights on or off - corkgsxr - 03-03-2011

on my berlingo the lights stay on all the time. if ya turn it to parking lights the headlights go off and dash lights up, parking lights go on.

you know how people say dont use stuff if ya dont need to it cost ya mpg

is it worth turning the headlights off or is there any differance.

saying that i know the safety benifits of lights on, on the motorbike lights stay on all the time

RE: lights on or off - Chris - 03-03-2011

I'm also a Volvo driver and been a biker for many years so I am used having lights on all the time, and think it is generally safer. Can't imagine that the lights make any measurable difference in mpg. There are lots of other things that will have a bigger effect apart from obviously not thrashing the nuts off it (windows shut, correct tyre pressures, keeping the outside clean and so on)

RE: lights on or off - corkgsxr - 03-03-2011

does keeping it clean make that much of a diff?

what bike do ya have?

RE: lights on or off - Chris - 03-03-2011

In principle, if its covered in crap then there is going to be extra drag and wind resistance. Again, I am not sure how much difference it would make but I guess it all adds up in the end.

No bike at the moment as I came over all sensible when my second nipper came along, but the last bike I had was a Yamaha 600 Fazer which I really liked. I would love to get another but the speed novelty has worn off so I'm thinking maybe an old BMW twin or otherwise something to mess about with off-road. There are a couple of bikers on here. How about you?

RE: lights on or off - corkgsxr - 03-03-2011

iv a gsxr600

just had it dynoed at the weekend 110 bhp and 158 mph