Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
European instrument cluster (kmh to mph)
#1
Hi All,

I am upgrading the instrument cluster and was wondering if anyone could help.

So, my car is the 1.6hdi (no fap/dpf), M59, 2007, 90bhp, 9HXC engine.
I can purchase an instrument cluster from Europe (the only one with CC LCD display, cannot find it in the UK). So, the donor cluster has fewer miles/km and the odometer reads in kilometers.

My question is, when I put the donor cluster in, what will the odometer display, miles of kilometers? The BSI is in miles and will change my original mileage to the cluster, i.e. the higher reading.

If the instrument cluster is displaying kilometers, can I change that in Lexia or needs to be done with some mileage correction service?

Many thanks for any help.
smile, you are alive!
Reply
#2
On mine, albeit a couple of years later, I can set it for miles or km. I would think it could handle the conversion. In your present car can you not select wither miles or km from the menu?
2010 Berlingo Multispace HDi 110 with FAP.  Persamos green.

Reply
#3
(20-09-2017, 05:44 PM)3rensho Wrote:  On mine, albeit a couple of years later, I can set it for miles or km.  I would think it could handle the conversion.  In your present car can you not select wither miles or km from the menu?

Many thanks for the reply.  I do not really remember, but I will see if I can do that tomorrow.
smile, you are alive!
Reply
#4
I have seen option in lexia to change miles/kmh.
Did not tried to change...
BSI will take highest mileage it finds.


Best regards,
Brajomobil
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to brajomobil for this post:
  • saskak
Reply
#5
(21-09-2017, 08:05 AM)brajomobil Wrote:  I have seen option in lexia to change miles/kmh.
Did not tried to change...
BSI will take highest mileage it finds.


Best regards,
Brajomobil

I checked every option available and could not really find any way to change the odometer from miles to kilometers for a test. The parameters measurement in the instrument panel says "odometer miles", but this is only a measurement.
It would appear it is hard coded in the instrument cluster. If I buy the European cluster with kilometers, it may be available to change it and it may not be.
Unless is something I have missed somewhere, but I do not see it. Only configurable options in instrument cluster are: oil level function, service indicator function and the Cruise Control (RVV).
If this is not possible on the new cluster, it will throw a spanner in the works. I would have to dish out some money for the mileage correction people to re-program it.

Best wishes,
saskak
smile, you are alive!
Reply
#6
I'm guessing the speedo will still be marked in MPH & KMH, but maybe with the KM part bigger than the MPH part for a non UK speedo? Another guess is that the instrument panel will calculate the speed based on input from either the BSI via VAN / CAN Bus or direct from the speedo drive. If so, the speed should be accurate regardless.
It would be interesting to see what happens to the mileage count! So long as the reason for change is recorded, I can't see anything illegal as instrument clusters / BSI's are often changed and this must have an effect on mileages for a fair amount of changes.

On the MHH auto forum there was a discussion about changing the dash to get the CC active, post #50:

http://mhhauto.com/Thread-citroen-berlin...fit?page=6
Reply
#7
(21-09-2017, 09:56 AM)cancunia Wrote:  I'm guessing the speedo will still be marked in MPH & KMH, but maybe with the KM part bigger than the MPH part for a non UK speedo? Another guess is that the instrument panel will calculate the speed based on input from either the BSI via VAN / CAN Bus or direct from the speedo drive. If so, the speed should be accurate regardless.
It would be interesting to see what happens to the mileage count! So long as the reason for change is recorded, I can't see anything illegal as instrument clusters / BSI's are often changed and this must have an effect on mileages for a fair amount of changes.

On the MHH auto forum there was a discussion about changing the dash to get the CC active, post #50:

http://mhhauto.com/Thread-citroen-berlin...fit?page=6

The speedo is in KMH only, but I will replace the speed dials. The speed will certainly be accurate, but my problem will be the odometer display. If it is hard coded in the instrument cluster it will display km, rather than miles.
My reason for the replacement is to get the CC for the 1.6hdi M59. The donor cluster has fewer kilometers (74k km) and my current one is 82k miles, so there should not be a problem with the BSI recoding the instrument cluster to the 82k miles. I would have to probable re-program the instrument cluster to show miles rather than kilometers, if that is not available in Lexia, nothing illegal. I am not trying to reduce the mileage recorded, only to replace the cluster.

Cheers,
saskak
smile, you are alive!
Reply
#8
Sounds good. I doubt that recording in KM will be an issue, I have 3 UK registered bikes and all 3 record KM, one of them does not have MPH on the dial, just 3 stickers for 30,50 & 70 MPH, never an issue at MOT time. If the speedo reading is accurate, then so should should be the distance count so I'd not be too worried about that. Maybe the printed dial from your old speedo is the same size?
Reply
#9
(21-09-2017, 10:45 AM)cancunia Wrote:  Sounds good. I doubt that recording in KM will be an issue, I have 3 UK registered bikes and all 3 record KM, one of them does not have MPH on the dial, just 3 stickers for 30,50 & 70 MPH, never an issue at MOT time. If the speedo reading is accurate, then so should should be the distance count so I'd not be too worried about that. Maybe the printed dial from your old speedo is the same size?

In general is not a problem, but I would like the odometer in miles, less issues all around. Unfortunately, the dials are not the same as my old one, but new dials cost ~£40. The mileage correction people could perhaps re-program the new cluster to show miles. I spoke with one, but he is uncertain if they can do it, as the cluster looks different than other ones, but if the coding is the same they can do it.
smile, you are alive!
Reply
#10
How much faff to change back at MOT time? I have an idea about the speedo, sent you a PM.
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:
  

Password:
  




[-]
Search
(Advanced Search)

[-]
Latest Threads
Alternative way of using a diesel heater.
Last Post: MrDrizz
Today 10:16 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 306
Stereo replacement
Last Post: hawaiianblue
Today 09:41 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 417
LED headlight bulbs
Last Post: hawaiianblue
Today 09:39 PM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 736
1.6 Hdi 'Missfire' under load (and a clonk)
Last Post: GraemeT
Today 09:29 PM
» Replies: 29
» Views: 3652
DRIVERS CHAIR
Last Post: Wyvern
Today 07:09 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 97
1.9 diesel not starting
Last Post: Rossco155
Today 05:40 PM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 829
New Member
Last Post: Art b
Today 12:54 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 273
What Reg Berlingo do you own?
Last Post: Tree
Today 12:37 PM
» Replies: 126
» Views: 82650
lowering a multispace xtr
Last Post: northroadycles
Today 11:30 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 560
Hello from Manchester
Last Post: northroadycles
Today 11:29 AM
» Replies: 10
» Views: 1165

[-]
Recent Visitors
Locations of visitors to this page