[Brakes] Newbie Brake Pad Changing Advice Please
I've done a few jobs on cars before - I'm reasonably mechanically competent but a long way from being a mechanic. I'm about to change (or at least check) my brake pads for the first time, a job I've never done before on any car.

I've read the Haynes Brake Manual and the brake pads section of the Haynes Berlingo Manual. I've got or have ordered...
  • Two sets of brake pads
  • Ceramic grease
  • 22-piece brake piston rewind kit
  • 1-man brake fluid bleed kit*
  • Brake hose clamps*
  • 500ml brake fluid*

* These are only because Haynes states that you should avoid shoving fluid back up the cable when rewinding the piston, because it could be dirty and because shoving it back could also damage the master cylinder seals. So you need to clamp the hose and open the bleed valve before retracting, so it may need topping up after. I'm betting that most garages probably don't worry about this and harm never results, but I'm going for the cautious approach.

But there are still some things I'm quite confused about...

1. Haynes says that, for the rear calipers only, "New guide pin bolts must be fitted on reassembly". Is this normal, does everyone else do this, why are they not needed for the front, and does anyone know anywhere other than Citroen to get them from?
  2. For the front brakes, there's a spring clip over the pad. Does this need to be replaced or is it OK to re-use it? It's £11.79 at ECP, part no 107770038.
  3. For the rear brakes, there are some shims. Similarly, do these need to be replaced or can they be re-used? They are £14.49 at ECP, part no 107735188.