Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[Engine] TU5 JP engine in a TU3 Berlingo
#1
Hi all, I've recently purchased a 2002 Citroen Berlingo for work use but I've bought one with a somewhat cooked engine, exhaust gases blowing into the crank case and also just fixed any coolant mixing with oil, apparently the previous owner got the head reconditioned and the mechanic forgot to bleed the air out of the cooling system. I know in the near future, I will have to replace the engine in this berlingo. Question is whether to replace the engine with another 1.4 TU3 or can I use a 1.6 TU5 while keeping all the original ancillaries and ECU. Another question is whether it would be more effective to replace the front subframe with one from the same floorpan (Peugeot 306/citroen Xsara) I'm not afraid to take the van off the road to do any of this work, but I'm wondering what will work, what won't work, and what would be most effective cost/effort wise for me.

Thank you all in advance
ST-004
Reply
#2
I think the TU5 is a pretty much direct drop-in, but you'll need to replace the ECU at the same time.
The ECU is set up for that specific engine model, and will not work well with another. Also, I know there's at least 2, maybe more different ECUs for the TU3 and they have different pinouts and therefore also different wiring looms.
I can't imagine that the situation is much different for the TU5 series.
Plugging in an ECU into a loom that doesn't match will at best result in a non-starter, and at worst, it'll blow up components.
One potential oops is that the sensor at the flywheel is mounted in a cutout in the bell housing on the TU3, and there's 2 different plug types used. Can't remember if the actual shape of the part of the sensor that goes into the cutout is different, though.

You may need to replace the front brakes and suspension(don't know. Never mucked about on a 1.6)
Reply
#3
Swap engine and wiring loom with ecu, configure the ecu for your vehicle before you get the ecu unlocked if your not buying a new bsi to go with it, once unlocked you can’t change the configuration most of the time, I found this out the hard way with my 3.0 V6 conversion and couldn’t delete the abs/esp from the configuration Sad
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:
  

Password:
  




[-]
Search
(Advanced Search)

[-]
Latest Threads
Replacement TPS Sensor
Last Post: Jamespworth
Yesterday 07:38 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 128
Juddering when pulling away
Last Post: cancunia
Yesterday 07:07 PM
» Replies: 10
» Views: 1109
Hello new member and warning light issues.
Last Post: Jamespworth
Yesterday 07:06 PM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 672
Aux cord functionality
Last Post: mistervanman
Yesterday 06:35 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 124
B9 Head Unit Upgrade
Last Post: manuk
Yesterday 06:18 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 117
Driver door lock problem help!!
Last Post: ffrenchie
Yesterday 07:42 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 396
Can i get away with 205/70r15
Last Post: geoff
20-04-2019 11:38 PM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 1338
How I installed an oil catch can in the 1.6HDi
Last Post: saskak
20-04-2019 09:59 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 713
Eco-mode behaviour . . . .
Last Post: Lighty
20-04-2019 09:46 PM
» Replies: 6
» Views: 651
Witter PG46C Towbar 2008 on
Last Post: Jakejjt
20-04-2019 08:28 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 266

[-]
Recent Visitors
Locations of visitors to this page