Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rear axle
2003, 2.0HDi MSpace, 175k miles. N cat write off for damaged bumper, but thats another story.!
Negative camber. Squeaking etc.
Rear axle shot I assume.
Thinking about going to abaxles in somerset for recon axle. 200+ quid for axle plus fitting for £100. 
Has any one used them?
Good bad experience?
That sounds rather cheap.
You may be able to get a refurb for that price, but...

You also need new hubs (can't remove the races of the old bearings from the spindles without damaging them, and they're not sold separately).
Also, I'd expect that yuo want to swap the rear rubber mounts and probably the shocks at the same time.
There's also the possibility that the brakes have... issues...
So don't be surprised if the price ends up £100 - £150 higher.

No experience with them as I'm in Norway
Price for fitting is £100. Reburbished axle about £240. Plus me driving abount 160 miles round trip to have it fitted.

I have no experience with rear wheel bearings, apart from youtube videos. Most seem to say you knacker the bearing when you take it off. Hence Why I was wondering what experience people had with abaxles. If they take bearing off and refit, presumably they know how to do it without needing new bearing?

If I did it myself I would worry about axle mounts as Gagetman mentions and seized bolts etc.

The recommended fix for shot rear trailing arm bearings is refurbished axle (according to this and other forums).
Hence why I am considering the fitting service of abaxles.

Someone must have used them. Perhaps I could get a reduced price if I did a review for this forum?!