Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Cruise control
#11
(13-07-2021, 05:58 PM)benoliver999 Wrote:  That's great news! Personally, I pretty much only ever drive long distances so it's a huge deal.

One thing to note about the instrument cluster - make sure the odometer on the new cluster has fewer miles on it than your current car. Otherwise, I believe the car will 'update' its mileage to the highest number.

If it's a lower mileage, I think the car just keeps the current figure.

Good to know - thanks! Mileage won’t be too much of a worry, as I regard this old thing as a keeper. I can add notes to the service history in case I ever get run over by a bus! I’ll take delivery of the new instrument cluster in a few weeks so will set about the conversion and update this post when it’s done. Thanks again!
Reply
#12
(13-07-2021, 07:42 PM)JWalshe Wrote:  
(13-07-2021, 05:58 PM)benoliver999 Wrote:  That's great news! Personally, I pretty much only ever drive long distances so it's a huge deal.

One thing to note about the instrument cluster - make sure the odometer on the new cluster has fewer miles on it than your current car. Otherwise, I believe the car will 'update' its mileage to the highest number.

If it's a lower mileage, I think the car just keeps the current figure.

Good to know - thanks! Mileage won’t be too much of a worry, as I regard this old thing as a keeper. I can add notes to the service history in case I ever get run over by a bus! I’ll take delivery of the new instrument cluster in a few weeks so will set about the conversion and update this post when it’s done. Thanks again!

The Netherlands' instrument cluster will show the mileage, trip and CC LCD in km and km/h. It can be switched to miles and mph, but it requires dismantling the cluster (taking needles off) and changing a few bytes in the EEPROM and it can be done without desoldering. If you want to do it, it is described in the thread I posted earlier. Let me know if you need any pointers/help.
If you are going to do this km->miles conversion, do it before connecting the cluster to the car, in case the cluster has higher mileage than yours.
smile, you are alive!
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to saskak for this post:
  • JWalshe
Reply
#13
(13-07-2021, 08:15 PM)saskak Wrote:  
(13-07-2021, 07:42 PM)JWalshe Wrote:  
(13-07-2021, 05:58 PM)benoliver999 Wrote:  That's great news! Personally, I pretty much only ever drive long distances so it's a huge deal.

One thing to note about the instrument cluster - make sure the odometer on the new cluster has fewer miles on it than your current car. Otherwise, I believe the car will 'update' its mileage to the highest number.

If it's a lower mileage, I think the car just keeps the current figure.

Good to know - thanks! Mileage won’t be too much of a worry, as I regard this old thing as a keeper. I can add notes to the service history in case I ever get run over by a bus! I’ll take delivery of the new instrument cluster in a few weeks so will set about the conversion and update this post when it’s done. Thanks again!

The Netherlands' instrument cluster will show the mileage, trip and CC LCD in km and km/h. It can be switched to miles and mph, but it requires dismantling the cluster (taking needles off) and changing a few bytes in the EEPROM and it can be done without desoldering. If you want to do it, it is described in the thread I posted earlier. Let me know if you need any pointers/help.
If you are going to do this km->miles conversion, do it before connecting the cluster to the car, in case the cluster has higher mileage than yours.

Final question for now! The Peugeot 206 Auto instrument cluster arrived today (pictured). My plan is to use the dials and put them on the Dutch Partner unit I’ve bought.

I don’t know if the 206 cluster is from a petrol or diesel (or what the mileage was). Do you think there is any kind of chance it will work with my Berlingo HDi if I just plug it in? Or could it be that the display on the 206’s cluster is calibrated to show only auto gearbox selection?

Thank you again in advance. Your wisdom is very much appreciated!

Kind regards,

James


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
Reply
#14
It looks like petrol to me, the red zone of the rpm is higher for petrol ones. It could work, but I doubt it. If this has higher mileage it will overclock your mileage.
smile, you are alive!
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to saskak for this post:
  • JWalshe
Reply
#15
IIRC the 2.0 & 1.6 have different ECU's (Siemens vs Bosch)? You may well get the 'Christmas Tree' effect described in Saskak's thread which is linked at the beginning of this thread.
Reply
#16
Ah, so is there a way to overcome this? I’ve read the thread again but there was a lot of tech stuff in there I don’t understand. I’m still learning Lexia, but becoming more confident with what I’m doing!

The new instrument cluster I’ve got is from a 2007 1.6 HDi and my car is a 2004 2.0 HDi. Are you suggesting it won’t be compatible at all?

Thank you for your help, by the way. I do genuinely really appreciate it! Next step is to work out how to dismantle the clusters without snapping the needles off!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply
#17
(15-07-2021, 12:25 PM)JWalshe Wrote:  Ah, so is there a way to overcome this? I’ve read the thread again but there was a lot of tech stuff in there I don’t understand. I’m still learning Lexia, but becoming more confident with what I’m doing!

The new instrument cluster I’ve got is from a 2007 1.6 HDi and my car is a 2004 2.0 HDi. Are you suggesting it won’t be compatible at all?

Thank you for your help, by the way. I do genuinely really appreciate it! Next step is to work out how to dismantle the clusters without snapping the needles off!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

When you said the 2L (original) instrument cluster is working with the CC, do you get any confirmation on the instrument cluster? For example a small green CC icon or something different on the trip computer odometer display? Probably the certain way to test it is to try it.

Here is how I removed the needles: https://youtu.be/wSVLBpksyBs
The first time I tried it I snapped one of them, but glued it with super glue. You may find other methods to work better.
smile, you are alive!
Reply
#18
(15-07-2021, 12:25 PM)JWalshe Wrote:  Ah, so is there a way to overcome this? I’ve read the thread again but there was a lot of tech stuff in there I don’t understand. I’m still learning Lexia, but becoming more confident with what I’m doing!

The new instrument cluster I’ve got is from a 2007 1.6 HDi and my car is a 2004 2.0 HDi. Are you suggesting it won’t be compatible at all?

Thank you for your help, by the way. I do genuinely really appreciate it! Next step is to work out how to dismantle the clusters without snapping the needles off!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I can't remember exactly, but I think the Christmas Lights come on when you put the instrument panel with the CC window in. You need to configure the CC for 'Type 2' via Lexia and the lights go back to normal, same thing happens in reverse. As for compatibility, I'm not sure as I never tried a different panel on my 2.0, only in the later 1.6 

To get the needles off, try 2 teaspoons as per the following vid..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2vsZaryVhKo
Reply
#19
Chaps, if we ever meet (and I really hope we do one day) I’m buying you a beer! Thank you! James
Reply
#20
(14-07-2021, 09:17 PM)saskak Wrote:  It looks like petrol to me, the red zone of the rpm is higher for petrol ones. It could work, but I doubt it. If this has higher mileage it will overclock your mileage.

Well, as you guys anticipated, here’s conclusive proof a 2006 instrument cluster won’t work in a 2004 2.0 HDi! Went through all Lexia menus to no avail. Sadly, that’s £150 in clusters and an evening’s work to fit the mph dials down the drain. Never mind, eh! We live and learn. I’m hoping it’ll be of some use to somebody though. Looks really good too!


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:
  

Password:
  




[-]
Search
(Advanced Search)

[-]
Latest Threads
UREA & engine light, Citroen goodwill claim.
Last Post: Mallorca-ingo
Yesterday 09:17 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 332
Fixing plastic trim
Last Post: notsofast
Yesterday 07:12 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 158
What's yours called?
Last Post: Mike
Yesterday 07:12 PM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 1123
Adding a passenger airbag on 2017 Van
Last Post: spotter300
Yesterday 06:44 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 114
Paint Peeling - Delamination
Last Post: oilyrag
Yesterday 04:16 PM
» Replies: 25
» Views: 5559
Power Steering pump 05 Berlingo Multispace
Last Post: geoff
Yesterday 01:03 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 374
Berlingo Pop Top Roof
Last Post: vampirequeen
Yesterday 10:08 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 1895
Rear washer/ wiper randomly turning on
Last Post: ed34
Yesterday 08:59 AM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 956
Springs
Last Post: RattyCortina
Yesterday 05:36 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 374
Berlingo DPF ISSUES. I’m out of ideas
Last Post: Stevie C
27-09-2021 07:48 PM
» Replies: 13
» Views: 2236

[-]
Recent Visitors
Locations of visitors to this page

[-]
Hosting by

QuickHostUK