Thread Rating:
  • 11 Vote(s) - 2.55 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Radio RDS function and Searching
#1
Afternoon all!

The radio in my berlingo is playing up. When in RDS mode it seems to want to search every 5mins. (Whilst I whistle to myself until the radio appears again). Why would this be?

Something come loose/broke?
Reply
#2
Bad signal?
I DO MISS MY BERLINGO Heart
Reply
#3
Mine does that frequently, but I live in bad signal area. If yours has just started it check you Ariel is still there or has not come loose.
Reply
#4
Sounds like a poor signal or ariel as mentioned. However, can't just disable the RDS function for the time being so it doesn't keep trying to search for the best signal?
Reply
#5
Loose aerial plug at the rear of the radio....water in the aerial base (quite common).
The Older I get the Better I Was!  Cool
Reply
#6
(09-07-2013, 01:44 PM)tucker Wrote:  However, can't just disable the RDS function for the time being so it doesn't keep trying to search for the best signal?

Hi, did you find out if this was possible? I listen to Radio 3 and where I live the reception has interference on the frequency that the RDS chooses. If I manually tune to another frequency it's usually fine. But then the RDS obligingly retunes me to the 'better' signal. Interesting, it's just Radio3 that's poor. All the other stations are fine.

Dougie
Reply
#7
Surely it's just a matter of pressing the AF button? Once you have AF disabled it should be ok
Malc

Stupid computer!
Security system should not fail safe!
Security system should fail dangerous!
Reply
#8
(09-09-2013, 03:51 PM)crickleymal Wrote:  Surely it's just a matter of pressing the AF button? Once you have AF disabled it should be ok

I checked my manual and it doesn't quite match my radio. I think the manual covers the top-end model - I have a 2008 HDi but not the top of the range radio. I don't have an 'AF' button, but if I press the Menu button I can change the RDS search to OFF (or disabled - can't recall the exact terminology). The problem is, it doesn't 'stick'. Once left to its own devices the RDS letters appear again and it automatically retunes, whether I like it or not.
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:
  

Password:
  




[-]
Search
(Advanced Search)

[-]
Latest Threads
Grizz' Prozac for the Soul - Berlingo Multispace
Last Post: Grizz
Today 06:22 AM
» Replies: 460
» Views: 75674
Setting the date and time without the factory st...
Last Post: Luis Rosa
Today 06:04 AM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 914
The Condensation issue
Last Post: Gadgetman
Yesterday 09:01 PM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 1787
inside windscreen grasy
Last Post: geoff
Yesterday 08:13 PM
» Replies: 20
» Views: 4089
16" C4 Alloys on M59?
Last Post: jj9
Yesterday 03:56 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 297
Coolant
Last Post: cancunia
Yesterday 07:44 AM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 493
Ticking /Chuffing from Top of Engine 1.6 HDI
Last Post: cancunia
Yesterday 07:39 AM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 606
engine and box swap
Last Post: amj32
13-10-2018 09:53 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 343
2004 1.9d engine removal
Last Post: Gadgetman
13-10-2018 08:28 PM
» Replies: 10
» Views: 1418
Engine misfire, 1.9
Last Post: polar
13-10-2018 04:04 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 335

[-]
Recent Visitors
Locations of visitors to this page