Thread Rating:
  • 11 Vote(s) - 2.55 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Radio RDS function and Searching
#1
Afternoon all!

The radio in my berlingo is playing up. When in RDS mode it seems to want to search every 5mins. (Whilst I whistle to myself until the radio appears again). Why would this be?

Something come loose/broke?
Reply
#2
Bad signal?
I DO MISS MY BERLINGO Heart
Reply
#3
Mine does that frequently, but I live in bad signal area. If yours has just started it check you Ariel is still there or has not come loose.
Reply
#4
Sounds like a poor signal or ariel as mentioned. However, can't just disable the RDS function for the time being so it doesn't keep trying to search for the best signal?
Reply
#5
Loose aerial plug at the rear of the radio....water in the aerial base (quite common).
The Older I get the Better I Was!  Cool
Reply
#6
(09-07-2013, 01:44 PM)tucker Wrote:  However, can't just disable the RDS function for the time being so it doesn't keep trying to search for the best signal?

Hi, did you find out if this was possible? I listen to Radio 3 and where I live the reception has interference on the frequency that the RDS chooses. If I manually tune to another frequency it's usually fine. But then the RDS obligingly retunes me to the 'better' signal. Interesting, it's just Radio3 that's poor. All the other stations are fine.

Dougie
Reply
#7
Surely it's just a matter of pressing the AF button? Once you have AF disabled it should be ok
Malc

Stupid computer!
Security system should not fail safe!
Security system should fail dangerous!
Reply
#8
(09-09-2013, 03:51 PM)crickleymal Wrote:  Surely it's just a matter of pressing the AF button? Once you have AF disabled it should be ok

I checked my manual and it doesn't quite match my radio. I think the manual covers the top-end model - I have a 2008 HDi but not the top of the range radio. I don't have an 'AF' button, but if I press the Menu button I can change the RDS search to OFF (or disabled - can't recall the exact terminology). The problem is, it doesn't 'stick'. Once left to its own devices the RDS letters appear again and it automatically retunes, whether I like it or not.
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[-]
Welcome
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:
  

Password:
  




[-]
Search
(Advanced Search)

[-]
Latest Threads
Number plate lights staying on.
Last Post: Gordon Taylor
Yesterday 08:45 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 237
handbrake travel and wheels fitment
Last Post: rapidyellow
Yesterday 07:13 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 416
2016 berlingo 1.6 hdi oil change time
Last Post: jj9
Yesterday 06:26 PM
» Replies: 27
» Views: 2326
P0115 fault
Last Post: Dizzydave
Yesterday 03:42 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 136
berlingo clutch pedal play
Last Post: cancunia
Yesterday 01:01 PM
» Replies: 19
» Views: 15323
Old member returning
Last Post: Yorkshire Bling
Yesterday 10:53 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 467
Just bought a 1.6HDi - a few questions
Last Post: cancunia
Yesterday 07:03 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 353
Dip beam level adjustment motor
Last Post: Blackshuck
Yesterday 05:55 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 562
where did they go ?
Last Post: ajcommercial
20-08-2018 11:06 PM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 822
Random beep
Last Post: ajcommercial
20-08-2018 10:39 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 631

[-]
Recent Visitors
Locations of visitors to this page