Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Leisure battery clip on Inverter
I recently bought an Odoga 300W inverter principally on the occasion I need to charge my laptop. In the car I do have three cigarette light sockets, one on the leisure battery, and a cigarette lighter extension cable. Odoga recommend to charge a device larger than 200W I could get a clip on and cigarette lighter adaptor linked direct to the car, or leisure battery. I then could add the inverter and the appliance. I have a leisure battery. I do hope I have explained that enough. I am not electrical savvy and wonder if someone has advice on this set up or even used one.
I do hike multiday walks and sleep in my van, and would like a set up that would boil a kettle quickly.
I do have a small camping gas stove and did on one trip have a mild panic when my carbon monoxide alarm went off; 99% sure it was the low battery alert. I would therefore like to use electricity as much as possible.
Ok, I'm an electrical engineer so can help directly on the power question, the average kettle is 2000W and a fast boil one is nearer 3000W (3kW) - so you would need a minimum of a 2000W inverter to power it, and as a rule of thumb you should have a bit of spare otherwise the inverter is running flat out.

So for some calculations - without taking losses into account:

2000W / 230V = 8.7A on the mains side. Watts is Watts when it comes to inverters (losses add extra to the pot too but we're ignoring them for now.)

So from your battery you also need to pull 2000W:

2000W / 12V = 166A so to boil a kettle (3 mins) you need 166A for 3 mins from the battery.

A 100Ah battery can supply 100A for 1 hour, or 200A for 30 mins, 400A for 15 mins etc (divide battery Ah rating by the fraction of an hour in minutes, so to find the fraction of an hour in minutes, you divide the number of minutes by 60 (15/60 - 0.25) then divide the battery Ah rating by the result)